Afan Lido Task & Finish Group

Afan Lido Task & Finish Group

Details have been announced of the composition and terms of reference for Neath Port Talbot Council's Task and Finish Group on the Afan Lido re-development.

These proposals will be considered for approval by Neath Port Talbot Council's Cabinet Scrutiny Committee on Monday 13 August.

If approved, nine elected members will sit on the cross-party group.  They are Councillors Anthony Taylor (Chair), Colin Crowley, Des Davies, James Evans, Paul Greenaway, Lella James, Rob Jones, Suzanne Paddison and Linet Purcell.

The Group's objectives will be:

a) To consider the options for a new leisure development having regard to the proposals in the report to the Cabinet Scrutiny Committee dated 25th July 2012 and proposals put forward by interested stakeholders
b) To develop evidence based recommendations for an affordable, deliverable and sustainable leisure facility on the Aberavon Seafront.

Although there is no set timetable, it is hoped the T & F Group will be in a position to make recommendations by the end of October.

Council Leader Ali Thomas said: "I am pleased to see the way everyone is working together on this project.  I have every confidence that this group will come up with recommendations which will not only benefit the local community but also play a vital role in the regeneration of the whole of the Aberavon seafront."